Skip to main navigation.
Call us! 361-364-2220 or 1-888-740-2220

SPEC Awards $20,000 in Scholarships

San Patricio Electric Cooperative awarded $20,000 in scholarships to graduating high school seniors within its service area. A total of 10 scholarships were awarded, each worth $2,000.

The recipients for SPEC’s 2018 Scholarship Program are as follows:

     Abigail Huie, A.C. Jones High School

     Abigale Russell, Sinton High School

     Alyson Pawlik, George West High School

     Catherine Hyde, George West High School

     Dustin Cass, Odem High School

     Lois Downing, A.C. Jones High School

     Louden Ramirez, Sinton High School

     Paul Higdon, Refugio High School

     Rebekah Halepaska, Orange Grove High School

     Stephanie Munson, Skidmore-Tynan High School

Recipients were selected by an independent scholarship committee, made up of former educators. They evaluated applications based on leadership abilities, community involvement, academic achievement and financial need.

SPEC’s scholarship is paid over four semesters, provided the student meets the standards established for the scholarship program. Each semester, the student must show that they have a GPA of 2.5 or higher, have successfully completed a full-time course-load and are enrolled as a full-time student for the upcoming semester.

The scholarship program, made possible through the San Patricio Electric Education Trust, is open to high school seniors in SPEC’s nine-county service area. To be eligible, students must be enrolled at an high school or homeschool program in the co-ops service area. In addition, the student’s parent or legal guardian must be a member of the cooperative and receive service at the student’s primary address.
Scholarship applications for the class of 2019 will be available in January.
Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo